I’m not dead!

I know it’s been a while since I’ve blogged anything, but I’ve been working on certain Top Secret and Highly Important Things, about which more later.

In the mean time: I’ve just played Composition 62 (via RPS), a game in which (spoilers?) the distinction between friend and enemy is whether a person is trying to kill you. Everyone looks the same, and you have no way of communicating. I’m reminded of those stories about two soldiers from opposing armies who suddenly found themselves face to face and decided to just turn around and pretend the whole thing never happened.

My first experience in the game was seeing another player silhouetted in the distance. We both edged toward each other, looking around to communicate non-hostility. Face to face, we had nothing to say. Later, three or four of us managed to group together. Of course, there’s always someone who just shoots you; but the danger of hostility is what makes solidarity meaningful.

